European Monetary and Fiscal Policies: A Transatlantic Dialogue

Conference

Speaker(s)

Please see PDF for more details.,

Date and Time

June 4, 2001 12:00 AM

Availability

Open to the public.

No RSVP required

Location

Daniel and Nancy Okimoto Conference Room

FSI Contact

Conference Theme At the beginning of 1999, eleven (since 2001: twelve) EU member states abandoned their national currencies in favor of the common currency euro, which will be available as notes and coins from 2002 onwards. The conference discusses various aspects of monetary and fiscal policies resulting from the completion of the European Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) with special emphasis on its implications for the transatlantic economic relations and the global economy. Conference Speakers Fritz Breuss, Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, breuss@fgr.wu-wien.ac.at Jakob de Haan, University of Groningen, j.de.haan@eco.rug Fabio Ghironi, Boston College, ghironi@bc.edu Gottfried Haber, University of Klagenfurt, gottfried.haber@uni-klu.ac.at Andrew Hughes Hallett, University of Strathclyde, a.hughes-hallett@strath.ac.uk Michael M. Hutchison, University of California, Santa Cruz, hutch@cats.ucsc.edu Tim Josling, Stanford University, josling@stanford.edu Markus Knell, Austrian National Bank, markus.knell@oenb.co.at Ronald McKinnon, Stanford University, mckinnon@leland.stanford.edu Reinhard Neck, University of Klagenfurt and Stanford University, rneck@stanford.edu Dominick Salvatore, Fordham University, Salvatore@fordham.edu Friedrich Schneider, University of Linz, friedrich.Schneider@jk.uni-linz.ac.at Rolf Strauch, European Central Bank, rolf.strauch@ecb.int Bas van Aarle, Catholic University of Leuven, bas.vanaarle@econ.kuleuven.ac.be

Event Materials

Share this Event